

BELGISCHE VERENIGING VOOR CARDIOLOGIE SOCIETE BELGE DE CARDIOLOGIE BELGIAN SOCIETY OF CARDIOLOGY

Brussels, 30 April 2007

BOARD

President

Prof. G. Berkenboom

Past-president

Prof. C. Vrints

President-elect & scientific secretary

Prof. F. Van den Branden

Executive Secretary

Dr. M. Goethals

Treasurer

Prof. R. Stroobandt

Councillors

Prof. J. Bosmans

Prof. T. Gillebert

Prof. H. Heidbüchel

Prof. V. Legrand

Prof. D. Schoors

Prof. V. van de Borne

Delegates Working Groups

Dr. A. de Meester

Dr. P. Dendale

Dr. M. Goethals Prof. P. Lancellotti

Dr. F. Van den Branden

Prof. W. Van Mieghem

Delegates Young

Cardiologists Dr. A. Pasquet

Dr. P. Vandergoten

Acta Cardiologica editors-in-

chief

Prof. H. Ector

Prof. P. Lancellotti

Dear colleagues,

As you may be aware, every two years the Belgian Society of Cardiology awards "the Doctor Léon Dumont Prize". The prize of €40,000 (forty thousand Euros) will be granted to a European researcher in cardiovascular medicine. Clinical and experimental research projects are eligible for the prize.

The next prize will be presented on 1st February 2008 at our annual scientific meeting, with the laureate giving a lecture on the subject of his or her research.

The Board of the Belgian Society of Cardiology would be grateful if you could bring this opportunity to the attention of your membership and in particular any eminent researchers of your acquaintance who may be interested in applying for this prize.

The regulations for the prize and the application form are attached. The deadline for submissions is 30 November 2007.

We would appreciate very much your society's collaboration on this matter.

Yours sincerely

Professor Guy Berkenboom

President, Belgian Society of Cardiology.

Prof. Guy Berkenboom, Cardiology, Erasmus Hospital Route de Lennik 808, B – 1070 Brussels Tel. +32 (0)2 555 68 70 – E-mail: gberkenb@ulb.ac.be